lest we forget

I will never understand baseball's "earned run" rule. Without bothering to look up the actual definition of the rule, I do know that it's meant to protect pitchers from being unfairly blamed for runs that score as the result of errors. It would seem, then, that if a batter hits a ball that is misplayed by the center fielder, and said batter-runner comes around to score on the exact same play, and the official ruling on the play is "a double" and "a two-base error," then the run scored by the batter-runner should be unearned. It was the error, after all, that allowed him to score; a double does not count as a run.

I hate baseball.

On that note, here's Melky Cabrera of the erratic 2010 Atlanta Braves to demonstrate.

(Either JavaScript is not active or you are using an old version of Adobe Flash Player. Please install the newest Flash Player.)

About scwtte

Founder, and chief author, of CGHM Networks.
Comments (2) Trackbacks (0)
  1. Ill always have Melkys back.

  2. Godyes. This is the exact kind of coverage I love on this site.


Leave a comment

* To prove you're a person (not a spam script), type the security word shown in the picture. Click on the picture to hear an audio file of the word. Click to hear an audio file of the anti-spam word

No trackbacks yet.